Month: May 2012

  • Coke-Meal for Science

    Coke + Oatmeal = Coke-Meal

     

    Coke-Meal + Microwave = Mess

     

    Basically, I free based Coca~Cola with Oatmeal. 

     

    For Science!

     

    Second Bite

     

    Finishing Move

     

    It isn’t good, but it isn’t bad. It just tastes like lumpy Coca~Cola. If Coke could curdle, this would be the result, except it still tastes like cola syrup and not sour milk.

  • First Impressions

    Tuesday evening I wandered over to Laura’s workplace to keep her company while she finished some late-evening work. While I waited I grabbed some Post-It notes and left a message for the new receptionist, who had started on Monday:

  • Yodeling My Chicken

    Today is just another Sunday on the Internet, and I am not personally going to attempt to either understand or explain what in the hell this is. However, the best description I have found thus far is “I love nothing more than randomness and a Bavarian man of Asian descent yodeling like a chicken to a Euro-pop beat.”

    Thank you, Internet. Thank you.

  • An Author, An E-mail, A Sticker

    Monday night we had book club, where we encountered an eclectic group of older poets whose pens are still anchored to the beat era for which their minds still pine. One of the poets wore a hat that appeared to be a dead peacock dyed neon blue. We relocated to a different region of the coffee shop and discussed Sinclair Lewis’s “Kingsblood Royal”. Though I do enjoy his writing style and the book was surely sensational at the time, now it falls in the “Eh” category. 

    A while back I grabbed drinks with some coworkers, and I ended up in a conversation with one of my coworker’s friends. She is some sort of author. I told her that I am in a book club, and she responded negatively: “That is a feminine thing to do.” First, no it isn’t. Second, why would she, as an author, take a stab at someone who enjoys books? Third, she apparently has never published a book (the Internet yielded no relevant search results).

    I received an e-mail that stated: “Yes sir, your all set.”

    Three possibile interpretations:

    1. He meant you’re.
    2. He misspelled my name.
    3. I possess an “all set”, which I presume is similar to the All Spark in the lore of Transformers.

    Tuesday and Wednesday I performed open mic at the Purple Onion. Someone asked me to be in an upcoming comedy show. An invitation which I had to decline in a very “first world problem” fashion as I will be in Brazil on the date of the show. I tried to pass it off as simply being gone, but then they asked where I’d be. 

    Thursday I woke up at 4:30am to be on an early morning phone call, and I lost the rest of the day in a blur of day dreams about feather pillows followed by seeing the movie “The Five-Year Engagement”. The movie is okay, but the plot needs to be tightened up and the length reduced by 40 minutes.

    And earlier this week I had my first attempt at the “I Wish This Was” stickers: