January 8, 2014

  • The Survivors

    In the name of organization and boredom and heroism and Tuesday, I went through every blog in my subscription list. If the person’s site either didn’t load or hadn’t been updated in the last 3 months, I unfollowed. Of the 588 people I once followed here, 9 remain active. And of the 579 blogs I unsubscribed from, only about 10 still existed as blogs and not a “this no longer exists” message.

    There are two types of change. The kind that is interesting and the kind that you can use for skee ball. The old Xanga had some nifty ways of easily finding other bloggers. Yes, in the last few years it would only let you find college-bound Asians for some reason, but at least people could be found.

    Without those features, we few survivors are all running around blind — lost mice in a maze or rather a cemetery. Then again, perhaps green grass will grow around here again.

    Speaking of grass, I learned that Peyote is not the same as marijuana. Thanks, books.

Comments (3)

  • I believe that mine still has a readable message up… sorry to leave Xanga! Thank goodness for Peyote! ;)

  • Yeah, it’s pretty awful…we can’t find anyone new and we feel locked in, awful combo.

    • @GreekPhysique, I pulled a complete list of all Xanga user names. I’ve made a little app that will poll the Xanga server and make a list of active blogs. I’m giving the team some headsup about it. I plan on running it and posting the results this weekend.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *