November 18, 2011

  • Behold the Pole!

    The glory that is THE FRIDAY POLE!

    Last Tuesday (November 8th, 2011) I took an empty tube from a roll of plotter paper and wrote the word “Friday” all over it in about 30 languages (Thanks, Google Translate). Thus, the “Friday Pole” was born. Then I threaded ethernet cable through it, tied the ends together, and wore it around the office last Friday to celebrate Friday. Now whenever Friday rolls around, I have a way to celebrate.

    Perks of the pole:

    1. Energy Saved: I can put Post-It notes on the end and use the pole to reach people 42″ sooner than I normally would.
    2. Pretend it is a quiver and then shoot invisible arrows around the office all afternoon.
    3. Herald the good news that Friday has arrived.

    It looks like this:

    ENHANCE!

    ENHANCE!

    Celebrating Friday doesn’t get enhanced by cardboard much better than this. Yesterday I saw 3 border collies in one day, which was awesome. If I could transpose those events to today, that would make for an better Friday, but instead it just made for a better Thursday.

    Most of my coworkers understand the Friday pole (and during the week ask about its pending appearance). But it seems to create confusion as well:

    Person: “What is that?”
    Me: “The Friday Pole.”
    Person: “What is that?”
    Me: “A pole that I wrote the ‘Friday’ all over in multiple languages.”
    Person: “Why?”
    Me: “So that everyone will know it is Friday.”
    Person: *Very puzzled look*
    Me: “I don’t know how else to explain it.”

Comments (5)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *